Sure, fun filters and effects are a great part of any social media app... but no feature is as good as deleting a message after sending it.
We've all felt that instant regret after sending somebody a message, so having the ability to delete it before it's seen is life-saving.
And WhatsApp have always had this feature. However, they only used to give you seven minutes to decide.
Now... for some unknown reason, the time has changed to one hour, eight minutes and 16 seconds. How very particular.
The hour removal period makes it possible for users to delete their messages from all sides of the conversation, whether that’s with one person or in a group message.
However, some users discovered that if a message you send gets quoted in that on hour period, those messages do not get deleted. So, even the message is deleted before the hour is up, the other person could have quoted it and prevented it from being removed.